Qatar Superstock 600 and Qatar Touring Car Championship winners’ awards were presented yesterday in a prize giving ceremony held at Ritz Carlton organized by Losail Circuit Sports Club and Qatar Motor and Motorcycle Federation.

The trophies were presented by Qatar Motor and Motorcycle Federation President, Mr. Abdulrahman Al Mannai and by Losail Circuit Sports Club Vice President and General Manager Mr. Khalid Al Remaihi.

For Mr. Abdulrahman Al Mannai, QMMF President It was a very good season and competitive in both championships ‘We are very happy to see new Qatari faces in our championship and this was one of our goals. Also, we tried to reduce the

cost on our competitors and we are happy with the results. Of course, there are some areas to improve and we are going to work for next season and make these championships bigger and grow more.’ QMMF President said.

‘With the concept of the QSTK championship, same standard bike for all the competitors, it brings more competition and we’ll try to unify the same for the cars although it is more difficult in terms of cost and we need to take it gradually, but it is very important the continuity and we are not going to make changes’ added Mr. Abdulrahman.

Mr. Khalid Al Remaihi, LCSC Vice President and General Manager was also very pleased with the result of both championships ‘I am really happy with the season. For next season, we will see if we can accommodate seven rounds in each championship, the challenges of our season are short, depending on the weather and we will see if we can squeeze more the rounds. This season has been very busy at the circuit, with a lot of weekends with multiple events at the same, with an increase of family and community events. We hope to encourage more people to come to the circuit and bring their families’ commented Mr. Al Remaihi.

The ceremony started with a certificate of appreciation to the National Media and TV stations that supported and covered all the rounds to the sponsors of the championship.

In the Qatar Touring Car Championship, there were two awards for the Drivers’ representatives, Abdullah Al Khelaifi and Mansour Al Hajri for their great job to get more drivers involved in this championship and to promote the regulations to the other participants.

Shady El Mohandes was awarded as the best improved driver and Mahmoud Al Khalaf received two trophies, Rookie of the Year and third overall.

Mansour Al Hajri also received the trophy of second overall in the championship ‘I am glad to finish 2nd and to get the driver representative award. I want to thank to QMMF and LCSC for this opportunity. This is my first car racing championship and I learned a lot, hope to do it better next year and in the next season this championship will become bigger and stronger’ said Al Hajri.