The new season for Qatar Touring Car Championship will kick off on 30th November and 1st December during the FIA World Touring Car Championship – Race of Qatar as the support race.

Previously, an official practice for the QTCC took place on 16th and 17th November so all the participants can set up their cars for the opening round. During the 2 days of practice, the Qatari driver Nasser Al Kuwari with a GT86 was the fastest driver with a lap time of 2:27.028.

‘Overall I am happy with the performance during these two days as it will be my first time I enter to this type of competition as I have racing in rallies before. I want to thank to my father all his support with this car in order to compete in the QTCC’ said Nasser Al Kuwari.

The second fastest driver was Saadon Al Kuwari with a lap time of 2:27.394 and Abdullah Al Khelaifi finished in third position with a time of 2:27.807.

The QTCC defendant championship title, Abdullah Al Khelaifi is looking forward to start a new season together with the FIA World Touring Car Championship ‘I am very excited to be back. This is where it all started for me and I am planning to defend my title and give a good show to WTCC drivers and audience as our race will be held with WTCC race of Qatar’ said Al Khelaifi. ‘Regarding the official practice, it went well as I gathered as many information as possible to modify and find the correct setup for our race. I wish all the best for all the drivers and hope that the new drivers enjoy this championship’ ended Al Khelaifi.

The runner up of 2016/2017 QTCC season, Mansour Al Hajri couldn’t take part in the official practice but he will take part in the new season although he will miss some rounds. Also, on 17th November, there was another edition of the Losail Time Attack. Divided into 3 different groups depending on the specifications of the car, each driver was able to drive for two 20 minutes sessions to get the best time they could and the drivers with the best lap time entered into the final.

Qatari driver Mohamad AlKaiat on his McLaren MP4 12C was the fastest driver in A category followed by Makram Bouchacra from Lebanon and Martin Staffel from Germany.

‘It was amazing but I hope next time faster cars can enter in my category and the competition is more challenging but overall the event was very good, everybody enjoyed a lot and thanks to Losail Circuit Sports Club for organizing this event’ commented AlKaiat at the end of the podium ceremony.

The Argentinian driver Juan Pablo Pinto was the winner in group B and Mohammed Al Khayarin was the fastest in group C.

Al Kaiat also got the trophy for the fastest lap during the event with a time of 2:16.985.